How to Watch Underworld Movies in Order

Have you started watching the Underworld film series? If so, you may be wondering which order to watch the Underworld movies in order. I’ve got you covered.

In this article, I’m going to tell you how to watch the Underworld movies in order so you can get the most out of this vampire action movie series. Read On!

The Underworld film series was created by Len Wiseman, Kevin Grevioux, Danny McBride and these are the dark, fantasy-filled action films that follow the battle between vampires and werewolves, with some humans getting caught in the crossfire.

But with so many movies in the series, it can be tough to know where to start. That’s why I’m providing you a list of all the Underworld movies in order, so you can enjoy them all without any interruptions.

How Many Underworld Movies are There?

There are five Underworld movies in total. The first, Underworld, was released in 2003 and the most recent, Underworld: Blood Wars, was released in 2016 and all of them star Kate Beckinsale in the lead role of Selene.

Are all the Underworld Movies Connected?

Yes! The Underworld movies are a series of films loosely connected by its main protagonist, the vampire, named Selene. The films are made by the Lakeshore Entertainment Productions and have been released in the United States by Sony Pictures. The films are set in different time periods and locations, but they are all connected by Selene and all of these films tell the story from the Origin to the final war between Vampires and Lycans.

Why should you watch the Underworld movies in order?

If you’re a fan of Vampire stories, then the Underworld series is a must-watch. The series follows the ongoing battle between vampires and werewolves (known as Lycans). While each movie can be watched as a standalone, I recommend watching them in order to follow the story and characters. 

The first movie, Underworld, was released in 2003 and introduces the characters Selene (a vampire) and Michael (a Lycan). The sequels Underworld: Evolution and Underworld: Rise of the Lycans further develop their story. The fourth movie, Underworld: Awakening, introduces new characters and kicks off a new story arc. Finally, the most recent movie, Underworld: Blood Wars, concludes the new story arc.

The Underworld Movies in Order of Release Date

The Underworld is one of the most influential franchises in the vampire genre. With each movie, it draws its audience in with a new twist. The Underworld has had five movies overall, but each of them has a different release date. So now I am going to tell you the order of release date for the Underworld movies. Let’s take a look!

  • Underworld (September 19, 2003)
  • Underworld: Evolution (January 20, 2006)
  • Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (January 23, 2009)
  • Underworld: Endless War (Animated films- 2011)
  • Underworld: Awakening (January 20, 2012)
  • Underworld: Blood Wars (December 2, 2016)

The Underworld Movies in Chronological Order of Events

Here is the list of all Underworld movies in chronological order:

1. Underworld: Rise of the Lycans

  • IMDb Rating: 6.5/10
  • Cast: Michael Sheen, Bill Nighy, Rhona Mitra, Steven Mackintosh, Kevin Grevioux, Kate Beckinsale

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans is the third movie in the Underworld franchise. It is a prequel that tells the story of how the war between vampires and werewolves began. In this movie, we meet Lucian, the first werewolf, and see how he eventually leads the Lycans in a fight for freedom.

2. Underworld: Endless War Part 1

  • IMDb Rating: 6.1/10
  • Cast: Laura Harris, Trevor Devall, Kate Beckinsale, Brian Dobson, Paul Dobson, Mark Oliver

Underworld: Endless War is a 2011 anime film directed by Juno John Lee and written by Jon Schnepp. Endless War is a series of three short anime films that follows Selene as she clashes with the Vampire Elder Marcus and the Lycan Leader Lucian in a final battle to decide the fate of the vampire and werewolf races.

3. Underworld: Endless War Part 2

  • IMDb Rating: 6.1/10
  • Cast: Paul Dobson, Laura Harris, Daisy Head, Kate Beckinsale, Trevor Devall

In the second part of Endless War, Selene returns to Paris in 1967 to investigate known reports of the two remaining Lycan brothers who fled from her decades earlier. Unknowingly, she is seen by Krandrill on the streets of Paris, from the very same belfry she had sighted Darius in Part I. While he goes to tell his twin brother, Selene gives Kraven her report via telephone.

4. Underworld

  • IMDb Rating: 7/10
  • Cast: Kate Beckinsale, Scott Speedman, Michael Sheen, Shane Brolly, Erwin Leder, Bill Nighy

Underworld is the first movie in the Underworld series. Released in 2003, it tells the story of Selene (Kate Beckinsale), a vampire who works for the vampire Elder, Viktor (Bill Nighy), as his personal assassin. 

Selene is forced into hiding when a group of Lycans (werewolves) led by Lucian (Scott Speedman) plots to overthrow the vampire Elders. Selene eventually joins forces with the Lycans to defeat Viktor and end the civil war between the two species.

5. Underworld: Evolution

  • IMDb Rating: 6.7/10
  • Cast: Kate Beckinsale, Scott Speedman, Tony Curran, Shane Brolly, Steven Mackintosh, Derek Jacobi, Bill Nighy

The second Underworld movie, Evolution, picks up right where the first one ends. Selene is being held by the Vampire Clan, but she quickly escapes and sets out to find her daughter. 

Michael is also back, and the two of them team up to take down the Lycans. This movie is full of action and suspense, and it’s a great follow-up to the first one.

6. Underworld: Endless War Part 3

  • IMDb Rating: 6.1/10
  • Cast: Trevor Devall, Laura Harris, Kate Beckinsale, Paul Dobson, Daisy Head

In the third short film of Endless War, Selene returns to Paris once again in 2012 with the aim of eliminating Krandrill once and for all, and she brings Michael Corvin to her aid. After Alexander’s death, humanity recognized the existence of the vampire and Lycan races and began to identify and destroy those “infected”.

7. Underworld: Awakening

  • IMDb Rating: 6.3/10
  • Cast: Kate Beckinsale, Stephen Rea, Michael Ealy, Theo James, India Eisley, Charles Dance

Underworld: Awakening is the fourth installment of the Underworld film series. It was released on January 20, 2012, and it is a direct sequel to Underworld: Evolution (2006). The story follows Selene (Kate Beckinsale) as she escapes captivity and hunts down the leaders of the Lycan clan. If you’re a fan of the series, don’t miss this one.

8. Underworld: Blood Wars

  • IMDb Rating: 5.7/10
  • Cast: Kate Beckinsale, Theo James, Lara Pulver, James Faulkner, Charles Dance

Underworld: Blood Wars is the fifth installment of the Underworld movie franchise. The film follows Selene (portrayed by Kate Beckinsale) as she continues her struggle against the Lycan (werewolf) uprising. 

The plot of the film is set two years after the events of Underworld: Awakening and finds Selene on the run from both the vampires and Lycans. Underworld: Blood Wars was released on December 2, 2016, in the United States.


We hope you enjoyed our article on how to watch the Underworld Movies in order. The Underworld series is a highly popular set of action horror movies that follow the story of Selene, a vampire warrior who leads the battle against the Lycans, a race of werewolves. I have provided a series of movies that you can enjoy watching in order, along with the release dates for each.

If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out to us by visiting this page. Thank you for reading, we would love to hear from you!

Leave a Comment