Is Your Incognito Window Private: Everything You Need To know

Incognito mode is private browsing that doesn’t leave as many tracks. It can erase temporary data that is captured by the browser you’re using.

This mode prevents your search history from being saved. It blocks applications like Google Chrome from saving cookies and other data. 

It also allows you to open multiple tabs without having them show up in your list of recent tabs. 

But how safe is this mode?

What exactly does it do? 

And how much information can be gathered by a hacker even if you are browsing with your incognito mode? 

Find out here!

Is Your Incognito Window Private

What Is Incognito Mode?

Incognito mode allows you to browse your entire browsing history without having the history stored by the website. 

It keeps all the search history you enter in a separate tab and ensures that no other websites can record your activities. 

The time of your visit number of windows you open during a session What can a hacker glean from the incognito mode? 

Even if you are browsing using the incognito mode, it can still track you using some cookies.

How Do I Enable Incognito Mode?

Is Your Incognito Window Private 1

How do I enable incognito mode?

  1. Open Chrome.
  2. Tap the three-dot icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Tap “New incognito tab.” Just like Safari, incognito tabs will be kept separate from the rest. Abbey White/Insider.

Advantages Of Incognito Mode

1. Deletes Cookies

Cookies are generally used to create a more tailored and relevant browsing session. 

However, by tracking your cookies, websites can follow you around the web, build a detailed profile of your online habits and then use this information to send you targeted ads. 

If you have Incognito Mode enabled, browsers will delete these cookies when you log out, keeping your personal preferences private.

2. Keeps Your Browsing History Private

If you need to use a public computer to check an email or shop online, there’s a good chance the computer will store your browsing history.

Incognito Mode will prevent this from happening by erasing any temporary browsing data as soon as you log out.

Disadvantages Of Incognito mode

1. It Doesn’t Hide Your Activities On A Network Level

Incognito mode can be hazardous for your privacy. And when you open an incognito or private window, it’s not completely clear in most browsers.

But everyone should know that Incognito Mode doesn’t hide your activities from your ISP, work or school, advertisers, or data collection companies. The undercover regime also doesn’t hide you from law enforcement.

Anything you do online while browsing incognito is just as exposed to any hacker as normal web browsing.

2. Hackers Can Track Your Data

Another common misconception about incognito browsing is that it protects you from hackers, malware or adware. It couldn’t be further from the truth.

Incognito mode does not provide security. Suppose you can be hacked or compromised by malware while performing normal internet browsing. In that case, it can also happen while you are incognito.

3. No Third Party Protection

When users surf the internet, several third parties try to monitor or hack your activity, such as hackers, ISPs, online advertisers, companies, websites you visit, or government organizations.

Incognito Mode offers the same security as normal surfing. Third parties can easily access your browser data and use it for their benefits, such as targeting you with ads, etc.

As per the above information, we don’t suggest using an incognito window. So what’s the solution to this problem?

Let’s take a look below.

Best Alternative Of Incognito Mode For More Privacy

When privacy is a priority, you shouldn’t rely on incognito protection mode. While this option is great for deleting your history and data after a session, incognito browsing will still make all of your data available to anyone who wants to collect it.

A VPN, or Virtual Private Network, is the ideal tool for incognito browsing. As you can see, VPN Services encrypt all your traffic to protect you from hackers. 

Also, it changes your IP address to one that is located remotely so that no one can understand what you are doing online, not even your ISP, your government, or intrusive advertisers and data collectors.

NordVPN is one of the best online privacy options. This VPN no-record policy guarantees users that will never log their online activity. It also uses military-grade encryption to protect your data from the world’s most experienced cybercriminals.

🔥 Try NordVPN for free to utilize their 30 days money-back guarantee program.

Conclusion

No matter how safe the incognito mode is, users shouldn’t expect it to be completely secure. However, if used with caution and discretion, it is just a way to browse the internet. Still, we recommend that you must use a premium VPN for your safety.

FAQs

Why should you never use incognito?

Your IP address: While your device may not know what you’re looking for in disguise, your ISP does. Your ISP can still monitor your activity and collect your data. This data can even be sold to third parties. It can still collect your data, which defeats incognito’s purpose.

What are the disadvantages of using incognito mode?

1. It doesn’t hide your activities on a network level. On a local level, your activities are hidden. …
2. You need to “activate” it. …
3. Advertisers can still track you. …
4. It cannot hide tabs. …
5. Your downloaded data is all there. …
6. You can be browser fingerprinted. …
7. DNS queries will reveal it all.

What can be tracked in incognito mode?

Google’s incognito mode keeps track of the user’s internet browsing and browsing history. Anyone who reads Google’s statement will see Google’s definition of incognito. It just means that it won’t save your activity on your device or computer.

How do you delete Incognito history?

1. Launch Windows Command Prompt by clicking on the Windows icon in the bottom-left corner of your desktop and typing in Cmd. Select Run as administrator, then click Yes when prompted.
2. Type the command ipconfig/flushdns and press Enter to clear the DNS.

Leave a Comment